Credential Programs

Teaching is the most important job of all.

Do you love spending time with children? Are you called to work with students with special needs? Are you motivated to share your passion for history or science or literature with learners? Then consider becoming a teacher at Saint Mary’s College of California, an institution founded on the ideals of Saint John Baptist De la Salle, the patron saint of teachers.

De la Salle believed that high-quality education should be made available to all, and the Teacher Education Department in the Kalmanovitz School of Education follows in his footsteps, with a focus on diversity, educational equity and social justice. We offer five different teaching credentials, most of which can be completed in 13 months, including both college courses and student teaching (field placements).


Which credential is right for you?

Do you want to teach in a Montessori school?

We offer two credentials, depending on the age of the students you would like to teach:

  1.  American Montessori Society Early Childhood Credential (ages 2.5-5)

  2. American Montessori Society Elementary Education Credential (ages 6-12)

Do you want to teach elementary or middle school?

Do you want to teach middle school or high school?

  • Our Preliminary Single Subject California Teaching Credential program prepares teachers for public or private K-12 schools, teaching your designated subject area. We offer credentials in eight subject areas: English-Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, History-Social Science, Art, World Language, Music or Physical Education.

Do you want to teach students with special needs?